Blue Light Boogie: A Brief History of the Blues

Jun 13, 2018

Credit BLINDBLUESMAN / Flickr Creative Commons

Playlist #1909 Jun. 8, 2018

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“Crazy Blues”, Mamie Smith, The Best Of Mamie Smith, Columbia/Legacy Records , http://www.legacyrecordings.com

“Down Hearted Blues”, Bessie Smith, The Complete Recordings vol. 1, Columbia/Legacy Recordings, http://www.bessiesmithcc.org http://www.legacyrecordings.com

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”, Ma Rainey, The Essential Ma Rainey, Classic Blues

“A Spoonful Blues”, Charlie Patton, The Founder Of The Delta Blues, Yazoo Records

“Canned Heat Blues”, Tommy Johnson, Tommy Johnson 1928-1929, Document Records, http://www.document-records.com

“Devil Got My Woman”, Skip James, The Complete 1931 Sessions, Yazoo Records

“Matchbox Blues”, Blind Lemon Jefferson, King Of The Country Blues, Yazoo Records

“Midnight Special Blues”, Sam Collins, Jailhouse Blues, Yazoo Records

“Bull Doze Blues”, Henry Thomas, Texas Worried Blues, Yazoo Records

“Diddie Wah Diddie”, Blind Blake, Ragtime Guitar’s Foremost Fingerpicker, Yazoo Records

“Statesboro Blues”, Blind Willie McTell, The Early Years ’27-’33, Yazoo Records

“Motherless Chile Blues”, Barbecue Bob, Chocolate To The Bone, Yazoo Records

“Truckin’ My Blues Away No. 2”, Blind Boy Fuller, 1935-1940, Travelin’ Man Records

“John Henry”, Pink Anderson, Blues And Street Songs, Riverside/Original Blues Classics

“Samson And Delilah”, Reverend Gary Davis, Blues And Street Songs, Riverside/Original Blues Classics

“Phonograph Blues”, Robert Johnson, The Complete Recordings, Columbia Records, http://www.robertjohnsonbluesfoundation.org http://www.columbiarecords.com

“Hoochie Coochie Man”, Muddy Waters, The Chess Box, MCA/Chess Records, http://www.muddywatersofficial.com

“Smokestack Lighting”, Howlin’ Wolf, The Chess Box, MCA/Chess Records, http://www.howlinwolf.com

“Hound Dog”, Big Mama Thornton, In Europe, Arhoolie Records, http://www.folkways.si.edu/arhoolie http://www.arhoolie.org

“Dust My Broom”, Elmore James, 20 Greatest Hits, Blue City Records

“Easy Baby”, Magic Sam, Easy Baby, Charly R&B Records

“All Your Love (I Miss Loving)”, Otis Rush, The Essential Otis Rush The Classic Cobra Recordings 1956-1958, Fuel 2000 Records, http://www.otisrush.net

“Caldonia (with intro)”, Louis Jordan, Five Guys Named Moe, Vintage Jazz Classics Ltd

“(I’m Gonna Move To The) Outskirts Of Town”, Louis Jordan, Five Guys Named Moe, Vintage Jazz Classics Ltd

“Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby”, Louis Jordan, Five Guys Named Moe, Vintage Jazz Classics Ltd

“Jubilee Theme/One O’clock Jump”, Louis Jordan, Five Guys Named Moe, Vintage Jazz Classics Ltd

“Good Rockin’ Tonight”, Wynonie Harris, Bloodshot Eyes The Best Of Wynonie Harris, Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Chicken Shack Boogie”, Amos Milburn, Down The Road Apiece The Best Of Amos Milburn, EMI/Aladdin Records, http://www.amosmilburn.com

“Big 10 Inch Records”, Bullmoose Jackson, Badman Jackson That’s Me, Charly R&B Records, http://www.bullmoosejackson.com

“Call It Stormy Monday”, T-Bone Walker, T-Bone Jumps Again, Charly R&B Records

“Going Down Slow”, Jimmy Witherspoon, Shoutin’ Swingin’ And Makin’ Love (various artists), MCA/Chess Records

“Driftin’ Blues”, Charles Brown, Driftin’ Blues The Best Of Charles Brown, EMI’Aladdin Records

“Funky Blues”, Charlie Parker, Charlie Parker Plays The Blues, Verve Records, http://www.charliebirdparker.com