Blue Light Boogie: Cupid, Valentines, Records, the Big City, Togetherness, Food Groups, and More!

Feb 18, 2018

Credit Steve Snodgrass

Playlist #1845 Feb. 16, 2018

“Cupid Boogie”, Johnny Otis Orchestra, The R&B Box: 30 Years Of Rhythm And Blues (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.johnnyotisworld.com http://www.rhino.com

“Cupid”, Johnny Nash, The Reggae Collection, SME UK Limited

“Iron Cupid”, Earl King, Glazed, Black Top Records

“Stupid Cupid”, Connie Francis, 45’s On CD vol. 1 ’56-’59 (various artists), Polygram Records, http://www.conniefrancis.com

“Bottom Of A Heart”, Renee Austin, Sweet Talk, Blind Pig Records, http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Christmas Card From A Hooker In Minneapolis”, Neko Case, New Coat Of Paint The Songs Of Tom Waits (various artists), Manifesto Records, http://www.nekocase.com http://www.manifesto.com

“Baby Valentine”, Sena Ehrhardt, All In, Blind Pig Records, http://www.senaehrhardt.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Valentine’s Day”, Peter Karp and Sue Foley, He Said She Said, Blind Pig Records, http://www.suefoley.com http://www.peterkarp.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Blues Valentine”, Karen Lovely, Ten Miles Of Bad Road, self release, http://www.karenlovely.com

“Happy Valentine’s Day”, Shemekia Copeland, Talking To Strangers, Alligator Records, http://www.shemekiacopeland.com http://www.alligator.com

“Blue Valentine”, Tom Waits, Blue Valentine, Elektra Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.elektra.com

“How Can I Miss You When You Won’t Go Away”, Dan Hicks And His Hot Licks, Original Recordings, Blue Thumb Records, http://www.danhicks.net

“You’re The Hangnail In My Life”, Hoyt Axton, Snowblind Friend, MCA Records, http://www.hoytsmusic.com

“Left Alone”, Big Bill Morganfield, If This Is Love…I’d Rather Have The Blues (various artists), Blind Pig Records, http://www.bigbillmorganfield.org http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Meet Me At No Special Place”, Duke Robillard, A Swingin’ Session With Duke Robillard, Stony Plain Records, http://www.dukerobillard.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Picking Up After You”, Tom Waits, One From The Heart (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.columbiarecords.com

“LP HiFi”, Dave Hannon And Band, Blues Canon, Damasaca Records, http://www.davespecter.com

“Rock And Roll Records”, Walkin’ Cane Mark, Tryin’ To Make You Understand, Enable Records, http://www.walkincanemark.com http://www.enablerecords.com

“Vinyl Records”, Brian Setzer, Rockabilly Riot, Surfdog Records, http://www.briansetzer.com http://www.surfdog.com

“Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)”, Marc Broussard, S.O.S.: Save Our Soul, Vanguard Records, http://www.marcbroussard.com http://www.vanguardrecords.com

“This Old City”, The Kinsey Report, Smoke And Steel, Alligator Records, http://www.kinseyreportband.com http://www.alligator.com

“Ghetto Woman”, Benny Turner, My Brother’s Blues, Nola Blue, http://www.bennyturner.com http://www.nola-blue.com

“Let’s Work Together”, Canned Heat, The Best Of Canned Heat, EMI Manhattan Records, http://www.cannedheatmusic.com

“(We’ve Got To) Come Together”, Reverend Shawn Amos, Breaks It Down, Put Together Music, http://www.shawnamos.com http://www.puttogethermusic.com

“Come Together”, Jeff Healey, Songs From The Road, RUF Records, http://www.jeffhealey.com http://www.rufrecords.com

“Chicken, Gravy And Biscuits”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Genuine Houserockin’ Music (various artists), Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Fried Food/ Hard Liquor”, Chris Daniels And The Kings, Blues With Horns vol. 1, Moon Voyage Records, http://www.chrisdaniels.com

“Cold Pizza And Warm Beer”, Anni Piper, More Guitars Than Friends, Sugar Daddy Records, http://www.annipiper.com

“Greens And Barbeque”, Micki Free, Tattoo Burn-Redux, Mysterium Blues Records, http://www.mickifree.com http://www.mysteriummusic.com

“Red Beans And Rice”, Noble ‘Thin Man’ Watts, Return Of The Thin Man, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com