Blue Light Boogie: Jitterbugs, Mambos, and Rumbas oh my!

Mar 25, 2018

Credit John Henderson / Flickr Creative Commons

Program #1850

“The Dark Town Strutter’s Ball”, Alberta Hunter, Amtrak Blues, Columbia Records, http://www.columbiarecords.com

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”, Ma Rainey, The Essential Ma Rainey, Classic Blues

“Shimmy She Wobble”, Napoleon Strickland, Mississippi Delta Blues Jams vol. 1, Arhoolie Records, http://www.folkways.si.edu/arhoolie

“Charleston” James P. Johnson, Carolina Shout, Biograph Records

“Jitterbug Waltz”, Fats Waller, Legendary Performer, RCA Records, http://www.rcarecords.com

“Jitterbug”, Cab Calloway, Cab Calloway And Company, Jazz Heritage

“Doug The Jitterbug”, Louis Jordan, At The Swing Cats Ball The Early Years 1937-1939, JSP Records, http://www.jsprecords.com

“Jitterbug Boy”, Tom Waits, Small Change, Asylum Records, http://www.tomwaits.com http://www.asylumrecords.com

“Hokey Pokey/ Pasties And A G String”, Tom Waits, On Broadway, Lunatic Records, http://www.tomwaits.com

“Cakewalk Into Town”, Taj Mahal, Like Never Before, Private Music, http://www.tajblues.com

“Slow Draggin’”, Noble ‘Thin Man’ Watts, Return Of The Thin Man, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Dance With Mr. Domino”, Fats Domino, They Call Me The Fat Man (box set), EMI Records, http://www.fatsdominoofficial.com

“Dancin’ With Mr. Jones”, Robert Lucas, Usin’ Man Blues, Audio Quest

“Dancin’ Jones”, Neville Brothers, New Orleans Party Classics (various artists), Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Soul Twist”, King Curtis, Soul Twist, Collectables Records, http://www.oldies.com

“Twisting With The King”, King Curtis, Soul Twist, Collectables Records, http://www.oldies.com

“Wobble Twist”, King Curtis, Soul Twist, Collectables Records, http://www.oldies.com

“Twist All Night”, Louis Prima, Capitol Collector’s Series, Capitol Records, http://www.capitolrecords.com

“Boogie Twist”, Studebaker John And The Hawks, Tremoluxe, Blind Pig Records, http://www.studebakerjohn.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Twistin’ The Night Away”, Nikki Hill, Heavy Hearts, Hard Fists, Deep Fryed Records, http://www.nikkihillmusic.com

“Got To Rumba”, Bill Wharton And The Ingredients, South Of The Blues, King Snake Records, http://www.sauceboss.com http://www.kingsnakecd.com

“Rhumba Girl”, Nicolette Larson, Nicolette Larson, Warner Brothers Records, http://www.nicolettelarson.com http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

“Rumba All Night”, Rose City Kings, A Love So Strong, self release, http://www.rosecitykings.com

“The Buffalo Cajun Mambo”, Roy Rogers And Norton Buffalo, Travellin’ Tracks, Blind Pig Records, http://www.nortonbuffalo.com http://www.roy-rogers.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Big Man Mambo”, Robert Lucas, Luke And The Locomotives, Audioquest

“Representing The Mambo”, Little Feat, Representing The Mambo, Warner Brothers Records, http://www.littlefeat.net http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

“Bump And Grind”, Grady Champion, One Of A Kind, Malaco Records, http://www.malaco.com

http://www.malaco.com

“The Train”, Junior Wells, Better Off With The Blues, Telarc Records

“The Dance Goes On”, Volker Strifler Band, The Dance Goes On, Blue Rock’It Records, http://www.bluerockit.com

“First Dance”, Stevie Dupree And The Delta Flyers, Dr. Dupree’s Love Shop, Soulbilly Music Group, http://www.thedeltaflyers.com

“Darktown Strutter’s Ball”, Paul Barbarin And His Band, Sounds Of New Orleans vol. 1, Storyville Records, http://www.storyvillerecords.com