Blue Light Boogie

Fridays at 9PM
  • Hosted by Art Hooker

"I got hooked on the blues the day I realized all of my favorite rock 'n' roll songs were really blues." So says Art Hooker, host of YPR's Blue Light Boogie. This two-hour program takes the listener from the blues' mighty traditions to its latest releases, with a bit of history and a lot of context from Art, who is also a musician with time logged in everything from polka bands to bar-burning boogie woogie combos.

Playlist #1743 02/03/17

“Blue Light Boogie “, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“You Gotta Move”, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Good Morning Little School Girl, Arhoolie Records, http://www.folkways.si.edu/arhoolie

“I Got To Move”, Maria Muldaur, Richland Woman Blues, Stony Plain Records, http://www.mariamuldaur.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Off The Ground”, The Record Company, Give It Back To You, Concord Music Group, http://www.therecordcompany.net http://www.concordmusicgroup.com

“Get Up And Move”, Lisa Lystam Family Band, Give You Everything, self release, http://www.lisalystam.se http://www.ramasound.com

“Room To Move”, John Mayall, Lots Of People, One Way Records, http://www.johnmayall.com

“How Come My Dog Don’t Bark When You Come ‘Round”, David Bromberg, The Blues, The Whole Blues And Nothing But The Blues, Red House Records, http://www.davidbromberg.net http://www.redhouserecords.com

“How Come My Dog Don’t Bark When You Come ‘Round”, Dr. John, Goin’ Back To New Orleans, Warner Brothers Records, http://www.nitetripper.com http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

“How Come My Bull Dog Don’t Bark When You Come Round”, Jimmy Vivino And The Rekooperators, Do What Now

“Two Legged Dog”, Fiona Boyes, Live From Bluesville, Blue Empress Records, http://www.fionaboyes.com http://www.blueempressmusic.com

“Hound Dog”, Aron Burton, Live, Earwig Records, http://www.earwigmusic.com

“Two Hound Dogs”, Johnny Dyer, Jukin’, Blind Pig Records, http://www.blindpigrecords.com

“Cat Clothes On”, Nighthawks, Rock This House, Big Mo Records, http://www.thenighthawks.com

“Cat Scratchin’”, Louis Jordan, Just Say Moe!, Rhino Records, http://www.rhino.com

“Trouble”, Inara George, Rock And Roll Doctor (various artists), CMC Records, http://www.inarageorge.com

“Blues And Trouble”, Grand Marquis, Blues And Trouble, Grand Marquis Music, http://www.grandmarquis.net

“Trouble”, Beth Hart, Better Than Home, Mascot Music Productions, http://www.bethhart.com http://www.mascotlabelgroup.com

“Trouble At Your Door”, Alastair Greene Band, Trouble At Your Door, Eclecto Groove Records, http://www.agsongs.com http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Troubled World”, Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, The Big Sound Of Lil’ Ed And The Blues Imperials, Alligator Records, http://www.alligator.com

“Trouble Everyday”, Backbone Slip, Avenue Breakdown, Blue Wave Records, http://www.bluewaverecords.com

“Get The Girls Dancing”, Amy Hart, Congratulations, Painted Rock Records, http://www.amyhart.com

“Dance Dance Dance”, Chris Daniels And The Kings, Funky To The Bone, self release, http://www.chrisdaniels.com

“Devil May Dance Tonight”, Ina Forsman, Ina Forsman, RUF Records, http://www.inaforsman.com

http://www.rufrecords.de

“Devil’s In The Details”, Kirby Sewell Band, Girl With A New Tattoo, Smelly Cat Records, http://www.kirbysewellband.com

“Devil’s Nightmare”, Dennis Jones, My Kinda Blues, Blue Rock Records, http://www.dennisjonescentral.com

“Devil Dealt The Blues”, Jay Gaunt, Harmonicopia, JBG Music, http://www.jaygaunt.com

“Devil Woman”, Kenny ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne, An Old Rock On A Roll, Stony Plain Records, http://www.kennybluesboss.com http://www.stonyplainrecords.com

“Blue Light Boogie”, Cozy Eggleston, Honkers And Barwalkers vol. 1, Delmark Records, http://www.delmark.com

“What’d I Say”, Victor Wainwright And The Wildrooots, Beale Street To The Bayou, Wild Roots Records, http://www.victorwainwright.com http://www.wildrootsrecords.com

“Jesus Just Left Chicago”, Shemekia Copeland, Outskirts Of Love, Alligator Records, http://www.shemekiacopeland.com http://www.alligator.com

“Don’t Let Go”, Joe Louis Walker, Hornet’s Nest, Alligator Records, http://www.joelouiswalker.com http://www.alligator.com

“Jam Up”, Terry Hanck Band, Gotta Bring It On Home To You, Delta Groove Music, http://www.terryhanck.net http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com

“Smokin’ Joint”, Kim Wilson, Smokin’ Joint, M.C. Records, http://www.fabulousthunderbirds.com http://www.mc-records.com

“Congo Square”, Sonny Landreth, Grant Street, Sugar Hill Records, http://www.sonnylandreth.com http://www.sugarhillrecords.com

“What Do You Want The Girl To Do”, Allen Toussaint, The Allen Toussaint Collection, Reprise Records, http://www.allentoussaint.com

“Do The Do”, Allen Toussaint, Connected, NYNO Music, http://www.allentoussaint.com

“On Your Way Down”, Allen Toussaint, The Allen Toussaint Collection, Reprise Records, http://www.allentoussaint.com

“Born To Play Guitar”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Wear You Out”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Back Up Mama”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Too Late”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Whiskey, Beer And Wine”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Kiss Me Quick”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Crying Out Of One Eye”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“(Baby) You Got What It Takes”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Turn Me Wild”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Crazy World”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Smarter Than I Was”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Thick Like Mississippi Mud”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Flesh And Bone”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.rcarecords.com

“Come Back Muddy”, Buddy Guy, Born To Play Guitar, RCA Records, http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.buddyguy.com http://www.rcarecords.com

“Night People”, Allen Toussaint, The Allen Toussaint Collection, Reprise Records, http://www.allentoussaint.com

http://www.memphisrockabillyband.com http://www.blindpigrecords.com